It might just be the scariest thing in the world to give your teenager the keys to the car and let them drive off. But the day will come, and we’ll have to do it. The United States has approximately 13 million teen drivers. On average, there are 9 teenagers, ages 16-19, that die in car accidents every day. That statistic is alarming! Raising awareness and understanding the risk factors that teen drivers face is the best way to keep your teen driver safe. Not to mention us parents.
Teenage Driving Risk Factors
• Driver inexperience
• Driving with other teens in the car
• Driving at night
• Not using seatbelts
• Driving when tired
• Reckless driving
• Impaired driving
Parent Rules for Teenage Drivers
• Parents need to set an example. Teens watch us all the time, including when we drive. If parents model good driving habits and follow the rules of the road, so will their teens. Plus, it helps us be better drivers.
• Parents need to set rules and expectations. Come up with an agreement that includes rules, privileges and consequences of failing to follow them.
• Parents need to become a role model. Do not drive distracted. Do not text and drive and never ever drink and drive.
Teenage Driving Contract with Parents & More
1. Avoid driving with younger passengers.
2. Create a written agreement with your teen driver.
3. Practice makes perfect. Practice driving with your teen at least 30 minutes every week until they get their license.
4. Keep driving with your teen. This will allow you to see how they are driving and correct any bad habits they may be forming.
5. Talk with your teen. Ask them what makes them feel uncomfortable and help them work on those areas.
6. Drive with them often. Let your teen driver take you out to run errands and ask yourself if you feel safe.
7. Take advice from your teen. They have just learned how to drive and can remind us of what we might be doing wrong. Driving with our teen can make us better drivers.
Distracted Driving Laws in Nevada
Texting, accessing the internet and hand-held cell phone use while driving is against the law in Nevada. This became effective Oct. 1, 2011. You can only talk on a phone when you drive by using a hands-free device. The fine is $50 for the first offense in seven years, $100 for the second and $250 for the third and subsequent offenses. Not only is it against the law to drive while talking on the phone, you are four times more likely to crash when driving while talking in a cell phone. Driving when talking or texting can delay your reaction time as much as driving legally drunk, even if you are using Bluetooth or another hands-free method.
Towing & Roadside Emergency Services in Summerlin, North LV, Henderson, Enterprise, Paradise, Sunrise Manor, Spring Valley, Aliante, Anthem, Desert Shores, Eldorado, Green Valley Ranch, Inspirada, Mountain’s Edge, Peccole Ranch, Providence, Rhodes Ranch, Seven Hills, Silverado Ranch, The Lakes, Tuscany Village & Las Vegas, Nevada
You can be part of the solution and make a difference. Work with your teen driver to give them the best start. Even the safest teen driver can get into an accident. If it happens, contact Non Stop Towing for roadside assistance or towing services.